Max Payne Review+ My Beef With “Extra Credits”

I’m certain I’ve never strongly disagreed so strongly with a source I still hold in high regard.
Extra credits usually nails the issue spot on. I still share links to their videos; some of which address important topics such as diversity, sexuality, and occupational viability of games.
I know where to give credit where credit is due, but this time I have to call bullshit.

Characters

Pasos is a very interesting character. A believable big brother type. If I met him in real life I could easily see myself wanting to be his friend. In a party, or in a gun fight; I can’t think of a better companion to max than he. Much of the semantic gold in the game comes from him.

The shallowness of the wealthy characters max is charged with protecting also allowed for contrast. Even the most vapid of people have things they value. the desperation and affection for Marcello towards his family; even risking his life to save his sister in law was touching.

Max never feels too out of touch with reality. he is a believable and, partly because of his humor, likable. there are many one liners and hilarious jabs. its black for sure, but there are plenty of undeniable opportunities for the player to chuckle. Every thing about this game is clever
In fact, the only complaints I had about MP3 were the controls for cover. Mass effect had an excellent cover system. the placement of buttons in MP3 were a little awkward. also the fact that I couldn’t move away from my covering spot without standing up drove me bonkers. I should be able to crawl/crab walk/whatever away from my cover position as I see no reason why this is a problem for max as its physically possible for me to do in real life. Maybe its his bad knees Perhaps this was done to further portray max as a crumbling old geezer. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not one of those people who dismissed the concept of cover all together. It added an extra layer of suspense to combat. I just wish it was as polished as the other areas of the game.

On the subject of drugs, sex and violence in games.

Drugs sex and violence are common. Its not mature (or immature), its not good or bad: It just is. you go to any high school/college in America and you will find a lot of Kids who consume a lot of coke, they also have sex. Almost everyone I know smokes weed or at one point in their lives rolled at a rave. I don’t think its particularly shocking or that the developers are trying to “shock” you anymore than a Cheeto commercial is trying to shock you with gratuitous images of cheese. Nudity is everywhere too. In fact, I’m writing this article In the Buff. I’m so “dark” and gritty… which is to say naked.

There’s is much in the way of sin going on in the world and, by extension, this game.
The way that the developers show these elements of life is very matter of fact. The bullet cam never feels over indulgent, in all honesty given the games difficulty, a well placed shot feels all the more triumphant in slow mo. If you haven’t seen it in action the best way I can describe bullet time is to compare it to the aesthetic component of the VATS system in fallout 3

Also, the efforts max puts into sobriety later in the game is all too inspiring.
for many gamers, young and old, who actually suffer from addictions and who are exposed to gang life/crime this game hits home on a very personal level.

In that sense its a story of hope. The most important lesson the game leaves is that there is a hero in us all; no matter how unheroic our current path is.
In that regard; Max Payne could quite possibly be the most uplifting game to be released this year.

See For Yourself

Extra credits is influential and rightly so. They do a lot of good work and their perspective is always welcome, although at times worrisome. It would be a shame if people missed out on this truly remarkable narrative due to the clout they have in the gaming community.
The storyline for MP3 is it’s salient draw and is right up there with the likes of Dragon Age, Mass Effect, Metro 2033 and the first Deus Ex game.

~ by miliefisathand on July 13, 2012.

3 Responses to “Max Payne Review+ My Beef With “Extra Credits””

  1. Precisely how long did it require you to post “Max
    Payne Review+ My Beef With Extra Credits A Smart-Assed Burman”?
    It comes with quite a lot of very good material. Thanks ,Vernell

  2. of course like your web-site however you have to test the spelling on several of your posts.
    A number of them are rife with spelling issues and I in finding it
    very bothersome to tell the reality however I’ll definitely come again again.

  3. I’m excited to discover this website. I need to to thank you for your time for this particularly fantastic read!!
    I definitely appreciated every part of it and I
    have you book marked to check out new things on your web site.

Leave a Reply

 
